Activists and policy makers. Entrepreneurs and philanthropists. Academics and students. Nobel laureates and intellectuals. They are changing the world every day and they are coming to the Estoril Conferences to share their stories with you.

Adriana Calcanhotto

Singer & Composer

Ahmad Nawaz

Education and Peace Activist

Álvaro Siza Vieira

1992 Pritzker Prize Laureate

Anja Ringgren Lovén

Founder of African Children’s Aid Education and Development Foundation and the Center for Children Land of Hope in Nigeria & Member of the Estoril Conferences 2019 International Advisory Board

Anne Applebaum

Columnist at The Washington Post & 2004 Pulitzer Prize Laureate for Nonfiction

Arie Kacowicz

Professor of International Relations at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem & Member of the Estoril Conferences 2019 International Advisory Board

Benedetta Berti

Head of the Policy Planning Unit in the Office of the Secretary General at NATO

Bernard Kouchner

Co-Founder of Médecins Sans Frontières and Médecins du Monde

Carlos Carreiras

Mayor of Cascais

Carlos Mesa

President of the Republic of Bolivia 2003-2005

Carmen Dominguez

Special Assistant of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

Cátia Batista

Associate Professor of Economics at Nova School of Business and Economics

Daniel Traça

Dean and Full Professor at Nova School of Business and Economics

Danilo Türk

President of Slovenia 2007-2012

Denis Mukwege

2018 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Dirk van Dierendonck

Full Professor of Human Resource Management at Rotterdam School of Management

Edit Schlaffer

Founder & Director of Women Without Borders

Edmund Phelps

2006 Nobel Prize Laureate in Economics

Eduarda Lobato de Faria

Architect & Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Lisbon

Eduardo Souto de Moura

2011 Pritzker Prize Laureate

Erik Kirschbaum

Journalist, Writer & Executive director of the RIAS Berlin Commission

Filipa Roseta

Local Councillor for Planning and Housing

Francisco Pereira Coutinho

Vice-Dean of Nova Law School

François Hollande

President of the French Republic 2012-2017 & Member of WLA – Club de Madrid

Garrett McNamara

Professional Surfer & Environmental Activist

George A. Papandreou

Prime Minister of Greece 2009-2011

Germán Garavano

Minister of Justice and Human Rights of Argentina

Graziano Tullio

Youth Cooperation Program Officer of the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe

Guy Verhofstadt

Prime Minister of Belgium 1999-2008 & Chair of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe in the European Parliament

Jamie Bartlett

Author & Feature Writer

Jamie Susskind

Writer & Barrister

Janine Lélis

Minister of Justice and Labor of the Republic of Cabo Verde

Javier Roglá Puig

Global Director of Santander Universities & CEO of Universia Holding

Joana Marques Vidal

Prosecutor General for the Portuguese Republic 2012-2018

João Taborda da Gama

Lawyer & Professor of Law at the Portuguese Catholic University

Jorge Quiroga

President of the Republic of Bolivia 2001-2002 & Member of WLA – Club de Madrid

José Luis Zapatero

Prime Minister of Spain 2004-2011

José Manuel Barroso

Prime Minister of Portugal 2002-2004 & President of the European Commission 2004-2014

José María del Corral

World Director of Scholas Occurrentes

José Tavares

Full Professor of Economics and International Business at Nova School of Business and Economics

José Velez Caroço

Executive Director of the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe

Joyce Banda

President of the Republic of Malawi 2012-2014

Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović

President of the Republic of Croatia & Member of the International Advisory Board for the Estoril Conferences 2019

Luis Alberto Lacalle

President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay 1990-1995

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa

President of the Republic of Portugal

Maria Elena Agüero

Secretary General of the Club de Madrid

Maria João Marques

Columnist at Observador

Mariana França Gouveia

Dean of Nova School of Law

Miguel Henrique Otero

Journalist & CEO of El Nacional newspaper

Miguel Pinto Luz

Deputy Mayor of Cascais

Pedro Espírito Santo

Representative of the European Union at Y20 – Summit of Young Leaders of G20 in Tokyo 2019

Pedro Neto

Executive Director of Amnesty International Portugal

Rigoberta Menchú Tum

Human Rights Activist & 1992 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Ronen Hoffman

Fellow at the International Institute for Counter-Terrorism & Former Member of the Knesset

Saki Macozoma

Executive Chairman of Safika Holdings

Sérgio Moro

Minister of Justice and Public Security of Brazil

Sofana Dahlan

Lawyer, Social Entrepreneur & Member of the Estoril Conferences 2019 International Advisory Board

Sofia Colares Alves

Head of the European Commission Representation in Lisbon

Spyridon Flogaitis

Director of the European Public Law Organization

Svetlana Alexievich

2015 Nobel Prize Laureate in Literature

Teresa Bonvalot

Professional Surfer

Teresa Violante

Chairperson of the Estoril Conferences

Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga

Former President of Latvia (1999-2007) & President of the World Leadership Alliance – Club de Madrid

Vítor Carvalho Araújo

Architect of Nova School of Business and Economics

Wang Hui

Founding Director of the Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences